RSS

Revival in Our Generation

12 Oct

agricultureIn my last post I talked about repentance as the first step toward revival. It doesn’t matter whether you want a personal breakthrough, or are looking for the church to awaken. That’s where it starts.

So many people talk about revival. I’ve heard a lot of prophecies saying that a new move of God is on the way. Right now, many seem to just be in a waiting mode.

Is that how it works? God says that revival is coming and then we just sit back and wait for it? I don’t believe that this is what the Bible teaches.

Israel learned it the hard way. The prophet Jeremiah gives us the principle.

If at any time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down and destroyed, and if that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned. And if at another time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be built up and planted, and if it does evil in my sight and does not obey me, then I will reconsider the good I had intended to do for it.
Jeremiah 18:7-10

The problem is that people don’t understand the role of prophecy. Usually it’s dependent upon the hearers.

Please don’t get me wrong. The prophecy of Scripture is totally independent of anything we do. Jesus Christ is going to return to establish His kingdom regardless of what the world does. That’s not the issue here.

I’m talking about a prophecy that deals with a certain time and place; that affects us. These are the ones that need to be listened to carefully. They will only be fulfilled if we do our part.

For instance, a prophecy may come forth that God wants to send a move of His Spirit to a region. That’s great, but it doesn’t end there. God’s people now need to do what it takes to usher in that move.

As in all areas, God is a gentleman. He tells us His plans for our good. But if we don’t want them and refuse His Word, then it will never come to pass.

I believe the Word that I’ve heard though many individuals. God is sending a new awakening to the USA. But I can’t let it stop there.

There’s something I need to do to prepare. We need to be prepared as individuals and as the church. The first step involves prayer and seeking God by the Holy Spirit. It’s not enough to sit back and “trust God to do the work.”

We need to be involved in the process.

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.
2 Chronicles 7:14

This is the verse that keeps coming to us again and again. It’s time we heed the voice of the Spirit; and move our nation in the direction of a great awakening.

Question: What can you do to prepare for a move of God?

© Nick Zaccardi 2016

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2016 in Prayer, Revival, Spiritual Walk

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
