RSS

What You Need to Know

14 Dec

BibleWe live in an age where all the information we could ever want is right at our finger tips. We can fill our time searching for what we want to know, but never find what we really need to know. As believers, there’s only one thing that’s vitally important to know.

I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.
Ephesians 1:17

This is the key to a successful Christian walk. Unfortunately, we don’t always grasp what this means. People say that they want to know Christ better, but how does that translate into our lives?

Sometimes we need to start by knowing what this does NOT mean. The Apostle Paul describes it to us.

So I tell you this, and insist on it in the Lord, that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their thinking…Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, with a continual lust for more. You, however, did not come to know Christ that way.
Ephesians 4:17-20

According to Scripture, there is right thinking and futile thinking. We can’t afford to think like the world. The world thinks that success is measured by money, power, and influence. Or sometimes, how many toys you accumulate.

This kind of thinking will never satisfy – you’ll never have enough. We do not know Christ like that, yet many try.

The truth is that Jesus Christ is not just one more way to fulfill the desires of your flesh. The Lord is not always after the same thing you’re chasing. We must find His destiny for our lives.

That’s why we’re taught over and over in the Word…

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires;
Ephesians 4:22

We’re not told to get rid of everything – just our former way of doing things. We’re living a new life now. Things don’t work the same in Christ that they do in the world.

The old self needs to go. That’s the part of me that keeps falling victim to my deceitful desires. These are the things in life that sound so good to me, but rob me of my effectiveness for Christ. They distract me from following after what I really need.

The fact is, if I’m not walking in the joy of the Lord before I make a lot of money, I won’t be joyful after I do. If I can’t serve God to my fullest now, I’ll never be able to when I’m a “success”.

That’s the importance of knowing Christ. I want to take a few posts to talk about what it means to truly know Him. We must know the lord to the point where it effects how we live.

Question: What’s the difference between know Christ and knowing about Christ?

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 14, 2015 in Revival, Spiritual Walk

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “What You Need to Know

Leave a Reply

 
