RSS

New Book – The Truth About Power

14 Oct

CoverThe following is an excerpt from the introduction to my new book, The Truth about Power.

Where is the manifestation of the power of God in the church today? I believe that this is one of the most important questions that we can ask in this generation. Where’s the power?

As I look out over the church, it grieves me to see the state of utter powerlessness that we accept as normal. I read the Book of Acts and see the heathen world shaken by the testimony of the saints. Healing, prophecy, and the raising of the dead were common events. When I think about what it was like in the early days of Christianity, I’m struck by just how far we’ve fallen. Where’s the power?

I think about the days of revival that have burned throughout this nation’s history. From Azuza Street to the Charismatic Renewal, there have been many outpourings of God’s strength. How did we lose what was gained? Why are there so few churches that portray the full ministry of Jesus? It drives me to my knees to find out why we’re so far from the ideal that the Lord has set before our eyes. Where’s the power?

Please understand; I’m not so foolish as to think that God has left us. I don’t believe that He’s stopped working on the earth. On the contrary, I believe that if there’s a problem, it rests on the human side of the equation. My quest is to find the solution for that problem.

I began to study the Scripture concerning power, and was amazed at the way the physical world shadowed our life in the Spirit. However, it didn’t stop there. As I continued to search the Word, God started dealing with me about the major issues that are hindering the flow of His power through us. These hindrances include attitudes and teachings that we’ve allowed to creep into the church. Many of them sound good on the surface, but they are essentially short circuiting the power of God in our lives. Sometimes the most well-meaning people can do the most damage.

We’ve become very adept at explaining away and excusing our lack of power. We proclaim that we want to see the power of God at work. Unfortunately, as the saying goes, we cannot continue to do the same things and expect different results. That’s insanity. If we’re to experience a new result, we must step out in a new direction. Hopefully this book will provide that catalyst for change.

One quick disclaimer – I don’t want you to think more highly of me than you should. While I believe the truths outlined in this book will ultimately lead to a greater flow of the power of Christ in us, I’m not there yet. I’m only beginning to apply these concepts to my walk with God. I have to struggle with the same old thought patterns that need to be broken. Understanding the truth and walking in it are two different things entirely. It takes time for our walk to come up to the level of our understanding. But it’s my goal to attain to this high calling that God has given me.

I invite you to join me on this journey to discover why there’s so little power in the American church today – and more than that – how to find the river and flow in it once again. May God the Father abundantly bless and anoint you as you read this book.

To see this book on Amazon, click here.

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2015 in Book Reviews, Power of God, Revival, Spiritual Walk

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “New Book – The Truth About Power

  1. Nicole Midkiff

    October 16, 2015 at 10:49 AM

    I can’t wait to read the book!! 🙂

     
  2. Gerard Tramontozzi

    October 17, 2015 at 12:21 AM

    Hey Pastor Nick, I’ve been discontented for a long time wondering where is it all at with the power of God. We can teach and learn all we want from church to church but there is no substance to God’s real presence. I even feel at times getting caught in the under current of unbelief with everyone else,but still feel a tug back to the thought if no else is seeking the God’s Power than it must start as a sacrifice Fasting and Praying in the Spirit and much serious time in His Presence on our own. Yes, easily said than DONE. I can’t wait to read your new book!

     

Leave a Reply

 
