RSS

Old-Time Saint…Cutting Edge Ministry

24 Aug

BrideWhere is the Lord trying to take His church in this generation? What’s His end-game? Have you ever stopped to think about these things? The reason I think these questions are important is that it’s easier for me to cooperate with the Holy Spirit if I know where He’s leading me to.

In talking about husbands and wives, the Apostle Paul wrote about it. He said that this was Christ’s goal…

…to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.
Ephesians 5:26-27

It’s clear from this passage that God’s desire is to perfect the church. I must admit that sometimes I look at where we are and wonder how He could ever accomplish it. The simple fact is that I have to trust in God’s ability to do that which He’s promised.

Recently I was reading a biography of Charles Parham. He was quite a teacher who lived around the turn of the century (the 1900’s). I believe that his message was cutting edge, even by today’s standards.

Here’s a quote from this awesome man of God…

“At Christ’s Second Coming the Church will be found with the same power that the Apostles and the early Church possessed. The power of Pentecost is manifest in us. The Christian religion must be demonstrated. The world wants to be shown. Then let God’s power be manifest through us.”

These words resonate in my spirit. The church must become what we were meant to be. That’s the only thing that will turn this nation around.

In the past I’ve said that my ministry was all about seeing a revival in our generation. But as I reflect upon Parham’s words and the Scripture above, I’m starting to get a clearer picture.

I don’t merely want a revival like the many awakenings and movements that have happened in the past 100 years. I’m hungering for more than that. I want to see the church rise up to its full stature in Christ.

I don’t just want revival. I want complete restoration to what we’ve lost since the book of Acts. I want to see the message of Christ coming forth with power, signs and wonders. I want to see healings and miracles taking place on a daily basis in the lives of God’s people.

This is where I believe God is taking us to. He’s making us a radiant church – with His glory shining through us. He taking away our blemishes and our shame so that the world can see in us all that He is.

That’s my prayer…my goal…and all that my ministry is trying to reach toward. Make that your heart’s cry as well. And together, we can see God’s glory manifest through His church.

Question: What will it take for God to bring us to this level in Him?

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 24, 2015 in Faith, Power of God, Revival, The Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Old-Time Saint…Cutting Edge Ministry

  1. Nicole Midkiff

    August 24, 2015 at 10:26 AM

    I agree with you wholeheartedly! It’s definitely going to take intentionality with our time. The church must get back to prioritizing time spent listening for God’s voice.

     

Leave a Reply

 
