RSS

The Holy Spirit – God in Us

08 Jul

DoveI believe that the church doesn’t fully understand the blessing we’ve been given. We have the Spirit of the living God residing in us. We need a greater awareness of who He is and His ongoing work in our lives.

Throughout history, God revealed Himself in various forms. In Scripture He describes Himself as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Jesus taught His disciples about what to expect when He was taken from them.

“If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever – the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.”
John 14:15-17

They were told that the Spirit of Truth is another Counsellor just like Jesus. The word Counsellor means the One who calls alongside. I’ve said before that He’s like a coach that’s constantly by our side encouraging us.

According to Jesus, the world can’t watch or know Him. He told the disciples that they already know Him because He was presently living with them. The good news was that soon the Holy Spirit would be living in them.

If this is another Counsellor, then just how much like Jesus is He?

“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”
John 14:18-20

Jesus promised the disciples that He would come to us and be in us. Wait a minute, I thought that was what the Holy Spirit would do. Please understand, Christ and the Spirit are one and the same person – they are both God, just different revelations of Him.

Hold on, there’s more.

Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.”
John 14:23

What a tremendous blessing we’ve been given. It’s not just a part of God we’ve been given, but along with the Holy Spirit we have the Father and the Son. God is one. He can’t be broken apart like pieces of a puzzle.

I know that for various reasons we have to teach about them separately from time to time. But the simple fact is that we have the full Godhead resident in us through the Holy Spirit. That’s why we need to deepen our relationship with Him.

The more we get to know the Holy Spirit, the more intimate we are with Christ and the Father.

Question: How would you characterize your relationship with the Holy Spirit?

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2015 in Revival, Spiritual Walk, Worship

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
