RSS

What’s in Your Name?

04 Mar

presentsIn my last post I started talking about our callings. I began by showing that God calls us by name. He knows each one of us intimately.

I believe very strongly that we should know what our name means and how it fits into the plan God has for us. I said last time that you’re the product of what was expected of you throughout your entire life. That’s all summed up in the name you’ve been called. Back in the days when Scripture was being written, names were an important part of one’s life. A good example of this was when the patriarch Jacob had an encounter with the Lord.

Then the man said, “Let me go, for it is daybreak.”
But Jacob replied, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”
The man asked him, “What is your name?”
“Jacob,” he answered.
Then the man said, “Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel, because you have struggled with God and with men and have overcome.”
Genesis 32:26-28

The names given to people pretty much determined their destiny. In many instances, a believer would change his or her name when they came to the Lord because it was no longer appropriate. That’s what happened when the Apostle Saul changed his name to Paul.

Do you know what you’re called before God? You should research out what your name means and how it fits into your ministry.

One of the biggest blessings I’ve ever received was the name I was given by my godly parents. They prayed about what to name me, and I’m so glad that they did.

My first name, Nicolas, means the people’s victory. I didn’t always like that. I thought it should be God’s victory. However, the more I started understanding my ministry as a pastor, the more I saw that my people’s victory is tied up in how well I lead them. If I don’t live a life of excellence, the church will never attain its calling before the Lord.

How I teach and lead will directly affect the victory that the people walk in. Literally, I am the victory of the people God has brought to me. Now, every time I see my name, I’m reminded of the awesome responsibility that God has entrusted me with.

My second name, Stephen, means crowned one. It reminds me that I’m more than a conqueror in Christ Jesus. I don’t have to be ashamed, but can hold my head high because I’m a servant of the Great King.

My last name, Zaccardi, (a good Italian name) was tough to find out. It took me years of searching to learn what it means. When I found out, I realized that it was well worth the search.

I found that Zaccardi comes from the Roman word for Quartermaster. Somewhere back in time one of my ancestors was a quartermaster in the Roman army.

A quartermaster was the officer in charge of the soldier’s supply. He was the one who distributed the weapons, armor, clothes, money, food, blankets, and everything they needed to fight the enemy and bring about the victory. Wow! What a description of my ministry as a pastor. I’m the one who gives the army the weapons and supplies that it needs to gain a victory.

Hopefully, you can see by now that knowing what I’ve been called all my life has been a great encouragement to me in the ministry. I firmly believe that everyone needs to search out the meanings of their names. It may help clarify some missing pieces in your life.

Question: How does your name fit in with your calling?

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2015 in Ministry, Spirit of Excellence

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
