RSS

He Calls Us by Name

02 Mar

Courtesy Mzacha, rgbstock.comOne of the single most important aspects of our Christian walk is calling. It determines our effectiveness, provision and fulfillment, yet many believers either ignore it or misunderstand it. If you want to walk in excellence, then you must have an intimate knowledge of your callings before God.

Calling has many parts to it. Each is important to the whole. I’ve found that even some godly leaders tend to focus on certain parts to the neglect of others.

I’ve heard it said many times that “with the calling comes the equipping.” This is very true. It’s also true, however, that if you ignore part of your calling, then you have just cut off part of your equipping. There are many Christians who are wondering why the resources are not coming in. In some cases, it’s because they’ve only heard half of their call and tried to figure the rest out for themselves. We must endeavor to hear and follow the whole call of God upon our lives if we want to run at full speed.

But now, this is what the LORD says – he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.”
Isaiah 43:1

This is an amazing verse. It’s a good feeling to know that I’m not just a number to God. He knows me by name, intimately and personally.

I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, who summons you by name.
For the sake of Jacob my servant, of Israel my chosen, I summon you by name and bestow on you a title of honor, though you do not acknowledge me.
Isaiah 45:3-4

There are things that God has stored up which only belong to me; they have my name on them. His desire is that I would know Him in that same intimate way. The good news is that He had them all planned out before I even acknowledged Him. He patiently waited for my response to His call. Then, as I walk in the works He’s prepared for me, I’ll receive the resources that He’s stored up for me.

The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.
John 10:3

The first part of your calling that I want you to realize is that you’re called by name. You’re the product of what was expected of you throughout your entire life. You’ve been called something since the day you were born.

In my next post I’ll talk about how your name fits into God’s plan for your life.

Questions: Have you ever researched your name? What does your name mean?

© Nick Zaccardi 2015

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2015 in Ministry, Spirit of Excellence

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
