RSS

Spreading the Fire

29 Oct

FireI’m taking a few posts to talk about personal revival from David’s perspective.

What is revival?  I experience revival when I’m open and honest about the condition of my life.  Then I go to the Lord to be forgiven and changed by His presence as I spend time before Him.  The Psalmist David tells us the next stage in the process.

Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you.  Save me from bloodguilt, O God, the God who saves me, and my tongue will sing of your righteousness.  O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.
Psalm 51:13-15

After you’ve started experiencing God’s renewal in your life, your desire is to see this same spirit of revival catch on in the lives of others.  That’s the way it should be.  The change God’s working in me brings such joy, that I want others to experience the same thing.

Unfortunately, in many cases, we cause problems by doing things our way.  We haven’t changed.  The power of God is not working in us.  And yet we try to get others to change what they’re doing.  That’s when we’re accused of being hypocrites, and rightly so.

When it comes to producing change in a life, I’ll never be as powerful or effective as the Holy Spirit.  It’s actually kind of arrogant to think that I’m able to change someone for the better.

That is not what we’re called to do.  The best we can hope for is to introduce people to a God who is abundantly able to transform their lives.  It has to be done God’s way – from the inside out.

I don’t know why it’s so easy for me to see what you need to change, yet so hard to look at my own failures.  No matter, in Christ the change needs to start in me before I can ever get it to reach out to you.

We need to stick to the Lord’s plan.  Let Him work His renewal in us first, then lead others into His life changing presence.  That’s the way personal revival can spark a revival in the church.  Make this your prayer.  “God, send revival.  Start the work in me.”

Question: How have you seen the Holy Spirit change you over the years you’ve served Him?

© Nick Zaccardi 2014

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2014 in Power of God, Revival, The Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
