RSS

Cultivating Your Soul for Revival

14 Apr

agricultureEverybody says that they want revival. Few understand what it is or how it comes about. The spirit of revival starts in the lives of individuals before it ever sweeps the church.

What I’ve found is that there are five realizations that we must come to for revival to get a foothold in our lives.

King David understood this. The following is taken from Psalm 51. You may want to read it before looking at the rest of this article. It’s David’s cry for repentance after his sin with Bathsheba.

(Verses 1-5) Realization #1 – I’m not walking in the fullness of my calling. We need to take a long, hard, look at ourselves. No comparisons, no excuses, and no justifications. We must see the life that Christ has called us to live, compared to how we’re walking. This alone should drive us toward repentance.

(Verses 6-9) Realization #2 – Cleaning my life is something only God can do. It’s not enough to simply say that I’m sorry and then trying my best to do better next time. I must come to the point where I know I will never attain a godly life on my own. I need the power of the Holy Spirit working in me.

(Verses 10-12) Realization #3 – I WANT God to change me. Knowing that I need to change, and wanting it, is a big difference. There are too many believers that cry over their sin on Sunday, and then run back into it the rest of the week. We must cry out for the change that the Lord wants to accomplish in us. Change will only come when we open the door of our heart to the wind of God’s Spirit.

(Verses 13-15) Realization #4 – I must lead others to the point of revival by my example. The sad thing is that we like to wait for someone else to experience it first, before we jump in. It’s getting too late for that. The time is now. We desperately need revival.

“Start the work in me, Lord.”

That should be our attitude.

(Verses 16-17) Realization #5 – God doesn’t want my stuff, He wants me. We sometimes get the idea that it’s about what I can contribute to the Kingdom. It’s not your money, time or resources that God is looking for – He wants you. The Lord knows that if you willingly lay down your life at His feet, then anything else will be freely given.

The rest of the Psalm shows the move from personal to corporate revival. That’s what it’s all about. The only way to a move of God that sweeps through His church, is when He moves in the lives of individuals. The road to revival is an alignment of our attitudes with the Word.

Seek a revival in your soul that will lead to a waking up of God’s people.

Question: What is God seeking to change in your life?

© Nick Zaccardi 2014

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2014 in Revival, The Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
