RSS

Don’t Be Selfish with the Bread of Life

21 Mar

SharingIn my last post I talked about the Word of God as bread.  I want to continue that discussion by looking at a parable that few ever teach about.  We need to see how the bread of the Word applies to our daily lives.

Then he said to them, “Suppose one of you has a friend, and he goes to him at midnight and says, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, because a friend of mine on a journey has come to me, and I have nothing to set before him.’
“Then the one inside answers, ‘Don’t bother me.  The door is already locked, and my children are with me in bed. I can’t get up and give you anything.’
I tell you, though he will not get up and give him the bread because he is his friend, yet because of the man’s boldness he will get up and give him as much as he needs.”
Luke 11:5-8

This parable brings to light an incredible truth.  Listen carefully to what the man is asking for.  He’s seeking bread.  But the important fact is the reason he wants it.

Is he hungry?  Does he have no money to buy bread?  Absolutely not!  These are not the reason he needs bread so desperately.

According to the man, a friend of his was on a journey and has come near to him.  He opened his home to the friend but has no bread to place before the friend.

According to Scripture, every human is on a journey.  We are all traveling from total spiritual darkness to maturity in Christ.  We are all at different places along this path.

What this man was saying is, “My friend’s path brought him into my sphere of influence.  I need to help him become what God wants him to be.”

The man was not seeking the bread of the Word for himself.  He was seeking a Word that would meet the need of someone else.  This is something the church needs to hear.  It seems that much of the time we are self-absorbed.

We are always seeking things for ourselves.  We seem to think it’s all about my healing, my prosperity, and my blessing.  We need to follow the example of Christ.  Most of what He sought the Father for was bread that He could give to others.

Notice the humility.  My friend has come to me and I have nothing of my own that could meet his need.  This is an admittance of our total dependency on God.

I’m trusting God to meet someone else’s need.  But I want Him to send the supply through me.  This requires us to admit our inability apart from the work of the Holy Spirit in us.

When you spend time in the presence of the Lord, remember to think of others.  Listen for a Word that could be a help to them as well as yourself.

Question: How have you helped others along their road to maturity in Christ?

© Nick Zaccardi 2014

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2014 in God's Provision, Ministry, Word of God

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
