RSS

Are We Creating a Church Full of Liars? #praiseandworship

05 Feb

Music SmokeFirst, let me say that I feel privileged that the Lord has me living in this period of history.  We’re at such an exciting time in the body of Christ.  It’s my desire to be at the cutting edge of what the Lord’s doing in His people.

One of the areas I see this, is in praise and worship.  This generation has given rise to worship leaders who reached new heights in their songs and choruses.  Singing some of these new songs opens up my spirit to the deeper work of God in me.

That being said, there’s a negative aspect to this as well.  I’ve found that marginal, shallow believers, singing those same songs, have replaced singing for experience.

Just because I sing, “Jesus, You are everything,” doesn’t necessarily means that it’s true in my life.  The Lord saw this as a problem in Israel.

“What do you think?  There was a man who had two sons.  He went to the first and said, ‘Son, go and work today in the vineyard.’
“‘I will not,’ he answered, but later he changed his mind and went.
“Then the father went to the other son and said the same thing.  He answered, ‘I will, sir,’ but he did not go.
“Which of the two did what his father wanted?”
“The first,” they answered.
Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of God ahead of you.  For John came to you to show you the way of righteousness, and you did not believe him, but the tax collectors and the prostitutes did.  And even after you saw this, you did not repent and believe him.”
Matthew 21:28-32

The Pharisees that Jesus was talking to looked like they were serving God, but in truth they were after their own agenda.  They needed to be shocked back to reality.

Please understand; I realize that in many instances we need to sing and praise “higher” than our current level.  In our hearts we’re aspiring to a deeper walk in Christ and these songs push us to press in to the manifestation of it.  I have no problem with that.

My concern is over the Christians who are in denial.  They’re living for themselves and think that singing about a powerful walk with God is the same as experiencing it.

Somehow, like in Christ’s ministry, we need to communicate the difference to our people.  This needs to be done with love, sensitivity, and respect.  Then we’ll see the affects that these songs should truly be working in all of God’s people.

Question: What are some praise and worship songs that have caused you to grow in Christ?

© Nick Zaccardi 2014

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2014 in Ministry, Music, The Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Are We Creating a Church Full of Liars? #praiseandworship

  1. Allie

    February 6, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    The hymns still speak deeper than any other worship song. Unfortunately I think the new worship songs have been overly commercialized, And that has nothing to do with my age. My teenage children also feel hymns, like the psalms, provide a much more profound spiritual experience with the Lord than the new worship songs.

     
    • Nick Zaccardi

      February 6, 2014 at 8:09 AM

      Because of their length, many of the old hymns can go deeper into a theme than some short repetitive songs. I still love these hymns. I think both have their place. It’s too bad that some people miss out on the blessing because they feel the need to replace the old with the new.

       

Leave a Reply

 
