RSS

Healing 101 – The Sin – Sickness Connection Part 1

20 Jan

BibleIn my last post we saw that all sickness and disease is a part of the package we know as sin.  It was the sin nature that Adam embraced that brought sickness into the world.

In this post, and the next, I want to show scripturally that this is the case.  To do that, we will be looking at this link throughout both the Old and New Testaments.

Think about God’s treatment of sin.  His goal is to remove it in all of its manifestations – including sickness.

Worship the LORD your God, and his blessing will be on your food and water.  I will take away sickness from among you, and none will miscarry or be barren in your land. I will give you a full life span.
Exodus 23:25-26

The words translated among you in the above verse literally mean the source or center.  That’s how God removes our sin – right from the source.  He treats our sicknesses the very same way.  He never does a “halfway” job, but goes right to the root of the problem.

He said, “If you listen carefully to the voice of the LORD your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the LORD, who heals you.”
Exodus 15:26

The Lord even calls Himself Jehovah Rapha in this verse, this is a title which means the God who heals.  Why would He call Himself that if it were not true?

Praise the LORD, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name.  Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases…
Psalm 103:1-3

This psalm is a standard piece of Hebrew poetry.  Rather than rhyming, this kind of poetry uses equivalent statements to make a point.

For instance praising the Lord with my soul and praising His holy name with my inmost being are equivalent statements because my soul is my inmost being.  Again, in the second line, my soul is the part of me that remembers.  So for me not to forget His benefits is how my soul praises the Lord.

It’s the third statement, however, that I want you to pay close attention to.  According to Hebrew poetry, forgiving my sin and healing my diseases are equivalent actions to God.

In my next post, we will continue looking at this connection between sin and sickness in the Old and New Covenants.

Question: Why is it so hard for some people to believe that God wants to heal us?

© Nick Zaccardi 2014

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Healing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
