RSS

8 Keys to Receiving Answers from God #answeredprayer

15 Nov

SONY DSCIt’s hard to believe that the stores are gearing up for Christmas already.  We’re getting close to the time of year where many people are asking for things.  As believers, we understand that it’s not about things, but Christ.

Still, there are things that I’ve asked God for.  One question that many people ask is; how do you receive answers to prayers?  Many look to God like a big Santa Claus in the sky.  We pray for things, and then get upset if we don’t get what we prayed for.

I believe that God wants to give good things to His children.  Over and over in the Bible it says to ask anything and it will be given to you.  Actually, if you read the Scripture, there are 8 requirements to asking anything and receiving what you asked for from God.

1. Your asking requires faith.

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.
Mark 11:24

This is the one we all seem to know about.  You need to trust that God is able to perform what you’re asking.  This is not an “I hope so” kind of faith.  It’s knowing that God is big enough to take care of your need.

2. Your asking requires the right motives.

When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.
James 4:3

This is an important point.  Why am I asking God for this?  Many times it’s because I want the pleasure it will bring.  Life is not all about me.  I live for God.  It’s about pleasing Him, and fulfilling His call on my life.  Is that my motivation?  To get answers to prayer, I need to check my attitudes and desires.

3. Your asking requires lining up with God’s will.

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.  And if we know that he hears us — whatever we ask — we know that we have what we asked of him.
1 John 5:14-15

This one is only met with maturity.  I need to be seeking God’s will.  This will only come by time in the Lord’s presence.  I have to lay my will on the altar and seek His ways.  Allowing the Holy Spirit to work in me is how I have the assurance that I’m asking according to His will.

4. Your asking requires agreement.

“Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.”
Matthew 18:19

This is an important part.  I’m not talking about getting someone to agree to pray with you.

“You pray with me for a new house and I’ll pray with you for a new car.”

It doesn’t work like that.  It means coming together in unity with others who know the Word of God.  Then, based upon the Word, they agree with you on the above three points.  They see by your witness that you have the faith to trust God for it, your motives are correct, and it’s God’s will for your life.

In my next post I’ll give the final four keys to answered prayer.

Question: Do you have some testimonies of answered prayers?

© Nick Zaccardi 2013

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in Prayer

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “8 Keys to Receiving Answers from God #answeredprayer

  1. Nicole Midkiff

    November 17, 2013 at 8:17 AM

    First of all, I loved this post. It’s so practical and it’s a great reminder for when we pray! God has answered many prayers of mine in my lifetime, but one of the times I saw His hand the most was during the preparation for my wedding day. Heath and I were consistently in prayer that the funds would come in and they always did. Not only that, but we were always told that planning a wedding would be super stressful and taxing on us, so we always prayed for God’s help in the process and His peace through everything. Both things, He supplied in abundance! We have so many stories about amazing “coincidences” that shouldn’t have happened, but I know it was God. 🙂

     
    • Nick Zaccardi

      November 17, 2013 at 8:54 AM

      Great example! Thank you for sharing.

       
  2. Princessa

    November 21, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    I must say, you are and have always been my absolute favorite Pastor. I am blessed always to know that your teachings, wisdom and guidance has led me to the path I was destined which was forged since! You are without a doubt the most humble as human being can be, wise, and truly gifted Man of God.

    I thank God for answering the prayers my family and I had prayed for several months when we first moved to Belmont, MA many years ago and was seeking a place of worship to call home. Couple months later the Lord spoke clearly one Sunday morning that it was time and the kids and I packed up in our van and went out to find a Church. We stopped passed three Churches on the way but for each one I did not feel the leading or confirmation that stirred me earlier. As I was about to turn around, I told the Lord, ” I have gone East, North, West and if nothing was at the end of the hill on Common Street, I would return home.” Unbeknownst to me at the moment I was being divinely set up. As I came to the end of the hill where Common and Mt. Auburn Street met, I look over to my right with an incredible look on my face when I saw it was a Church! We parked and entered. At first I didn’t see any children so my kids and I decided to leave. But then Nick Sr came to me and showed the Love of Christ I have come to know the years following. We stayed and it was the most healing and powerful time of our lives.

    God does answer prayers, yes my Pastor! He brought you into our lives! You have nurtured and help developed the destiny for which I was meant to follow. Since then it has grown and blessed thousands around the world!

    I am extremely happy to have read your message today and will continue to look forward to more.
    Stay blessed my dear Pastor, stay blessed!
    Princessa

     
    • Nick Zaccardi

      November 21, 2013 at 1:52 PM

      Thanks for that testimony. You were a great blessing as well for the time you were with us. May God continue His blessing upon your work for Him.

       

Leave a Reply

 
