RSS

The First Move of Restoration #Revivals past

08 Jul

Bible1In my last post, I talked about the church’s descent into the Dark Ages.  It was a horrible time in history.  Many people ask, “How could all this have happened?”  What about all that the Bible teaches?

The bottom line is, that at that time, the Church was the ultimate authority in the life of the believer.  Their teaching was viewed as infallible.  The clergy would not allow the common people own a Bible.

“We’ll explain to you the truth you need to know.”

Around 1300 A.D., it seems that God finally said, “Enough – I’ve got to prepare my bride for my coming.”  The Lord had to rearm his church.  As I look at the flow of history, I see that God was restoring the armor of Ephesians 6.  The bride had to be dressed and ready for the Lord.

Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist,
Ephesians 6:14a

First thing that was needed to be restored was the Belt of Truth.  This is what the church desperately hungered for at that time.  We need a foundation of truth.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.
2 Timothy 3:16-17

I would never have known truth without Scripture.  I need to be taught the principles of God.

It seems that the church was without hope at this time.  The door to heaven was locked and the priests had the only key.

I think that it’s no coincidence that the printing press was invented during this period.  I also believe that it was a direct result of the move of God.  The first book printed with this new technology was the Bible.

The above verse tells me that sometimes I need to be rebuked, to be told when I’m wrong.  It’s how I react that tells whom I serve.  Am I willing to listen to the Holy Spirit and change, or am I hard-hearted and rebellious?

Thus, some of the greatest persecution of God’s people began.  Unfortunately it was not from unbelievers, but from the organized church, itself.

God started moving in the lives of His servants.  It was small at first.  Believers who wanted to read and study the Bible for themselves.

It’s hard for us in the United States to fathom this.  Most Christians have more than one Bible in their home.  We have access in stores and online.  We’re free to read Scripture whenever and wherever we want.

Throughout history this has not always been the case.  In my next post I’ll wrap up this series by recounting some of the precious saints of God who laid down their lives for us to have the abundance of Scripture that we now enjoy.

Question: How much do you appreciate your access to Scripture?  How do you show it?

© Nick Zaccardi 2013

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2013 in Revival, The Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The First Move of Restoration #Revivals past

  1. Nicole Midkiff

    July 10, 2013 at 8:56 AM

    I feel that sometimes because we have such an abundance of Scripture we take it for granted…we don’t study it like we should.

     
  2. Allie

    July 11, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    Reading the word of God daily is one way to appreciate the freedom we have to get into the Scriptures. Studying the word with others is another way, though I still think that in the majority of time we are still expecting leaders to dig the Word for ourselves. I seldom hear a Christian share what they receive from the Lord directly from reading His Word. The majority of the time they are sharing what they heard others say (and they do not know the word to back it up). There is very little checking like the Bereans used to do which may lead us into another “dark ages.” I also found interesting the passage about persecution coming from the “organized church.” Something to think about…

     
    • Nick Zaccardi

      July 12, 2013 at 8:59 PM

      I agree. Thank God for the great Bible teachers. But nothing replaces studying the Word for yourself.

       

Leave a Reply

 
