RSS

Running Away – Part 2

26 Jul

Genesis 16:9-10
Then the angel of the LORD told her, “Go back to your mistress and submit to her.”  The angel added, “I will so increase your descendants that they will be too numerous to count.”

I don’t know about you, but I hate getting instructions like that.  Unfortunately, this is sometimes the case in life.  The only way forward is to go back.

I have learned this the hard way on many occasions.  I love to go on road trips with my wife.  Most of the time it’s great fun.  However, there have been times when I have missed an exit or a road I needed to go down.

That’s when the “man pride” starts to kick in.  Do I keep going forward as if nothing’s wrong?  Do I humble myself, admit the problem, and turn around?  Sometimes it can be a hard decision.

Backtracking is never easy to do.  It requires you to acknowledge that you’re not perfect.  But, the fact is that not turning around can compound the problem.  If I hadn’t gone back to the right exit, who knows where I would have ended up.

In life, don’t be too proud to backtrack.  Sometimes you need to find the place where you last knew you were in God’s plan.  If you find yourself a little “lost” in life, take the time to go before the Lord and seek His wisdom to get you back on track.  Don’t be too afraid or proud to work on the areas He speaks to you about.  Do what is needed to bring restoration.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
