RSS

My Distress

24 Jul

Psalm 120:1
I call on the LORD in my distress, and he answers me.

We can clearly see from this Scripture what David’s natural response to distress was.  “I call on the Lord.”  It is a simple statement of fact.

I think back to when I first started hiking.  Out of shape and 50 pounds overweight, I was in distress most of the time.  Some hikes were one long prayer for my deliverance!

We need to ask ourselves – “What do I do when I find myself in distress?”  Do we first try to do everything we can think of to help ourselves?  Do we ignore the problem and hope it will go away?  Do we only run to God after everything else has failed?

We need to learn from David’s example.  Our first choice in time of distress should be to call upon the name of the Lord.  He is the Rock of safety that is always close at hand.  He alone is always available to meet our needs.

It is only in Christ that we are assured to come out victoriously on the other side.  Let the Lord handle your problems.  You will find that you spend less time worrying.  Trust Him, it will make all the difference in the outcome of the problem.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
