RSS

Running to Win

27 Jun

The Olympics are quickly approaching.  Are you going to watch it?  If so, what excites you about it?

1 Corinthians 9:24
Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

One of the biggest things about the Olympics, that draws us in, is that it only happens every 4 years.  For many athletes it is a once in a lifetime chance to show what they’re capable of accomplishing.  It is this all or nothing, “go for the gold” attitude that brings fans to their feet in applause for the victors.

I have never heard any competitor say, “I just wanted to run on the Olympic track.  That’s good enough for me.  I don’t need to give my best.”  That would be the craziest thing ever.  No one would want to watch that athlete.

Yet, in the Christian walk, how often do we see this attitude.

“I’m saved and going to Heaven.  That’s good enough for me.”

These believers will go to church on Sunday.  But they don’t want to inconvenience themselves for God or His work.  There is no passion in their walk.  There is no drive or vision for what the Lord can do in and through them.

We need to take inventory of ourselves.  What kind of a runner am I?  Am I content to just sit back and let others win the prize?  Or do I want to give it everything I have within me?

We need to pick up the “Olympic spirit” in our spiritual walk.  Go for the gold.  Let the Holy Spirit inspire you to accomplish great things for God.  Through Him, we can do above and beyond all we could ever imagine that we could do.  Be that victorious believer, who runs the race from a heart on fire for Christ.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
