RSS

Remember God

21 Jun

Psalm 42:5-8
Why are you downcast, O my soul?  Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.
My soul is downcast within me; therefore I will remember you…Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me.
By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me – a prayer to the God of my life.

We all have times during which we get downcast.  Confusion, weariness, and depression all come knocking at our door from time to time.  If we give in, we lose without a fight.

There is one bright hope through it all – that is if we can remember to place God into the equation.  When we merely focus in on the problem, it is easy to forget what God is able to do on our behalf.

It seems that whenever I meditate upon what the Lord has done for me in the past, I once again realize how good God really is.  In this mindset I am aware of His presence to a greater degree than at any other time.  It is very easy, then, to put God back in control of my situation.

Don’t waste the opportunity that your time with the Lord offers for the refreshing of your spirit.  Use this time to strengthen your fellowship with Christ.  Remember the victories He has brought you through in the past.  He is still on the throne.  He is well able to meet your need today.

Take those things that are burdening you down and turn them over to the One who can truly meet all your needs.  Then you will be able to leave that downcast spirit at the foot of the cross and come away with a fresh and healthy new attitude.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
