RSS

Pressing On

28 May

Philippians 3:12-14
Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

It is not always easy to press on.  Sometimes it is an effort just to put one foot in front of the other.  Hikers and joggers have learned to just keep moving forward.  There have been times when I was hiking that, because of injury or pain, I have felt like giving up.  It is in times like those that I had to keep telling myself, “As long as you keep taking each step, you will come to the end of the trail.”

It is the same thing in life.  It is usually not the big things that knock us down, but the continual monotony of our daily lives, day after day, week after week.  It is the constant grind that saps our strength and weakens our spirit.

In order to overcome, we need to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus.  We know that if we keep to His course for our lives, we will come out with His result.  We will lay hold of the prize for which He has called us.

Don’t give up.  Go to the Lord today and ask for His strength for the road ahead.  Don’t live a day without allowing His renewing Spirit to work in your life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
