RSS

Inner Strength

26 May

Ephesians 3:16
I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being.

Now that we are in the Spring season, my mind starts to think about hiking.  I love to get out and walk the Appalachian Trail.  In order to be ready, I have been either walking or riding my bike each morning.  I want to strengthen those lazy winter muscles.

Strength is a necessary part of the outdoors experience.  When my wife and I started to add children to our family we stopped hiking because of the limited time we had.  Since I have started back up again I have lost 30 pounds.  (Pounds that I had “found” up till that time!)

I can tell you by experience that out of shape people cannot enjoy hiking as fully as those used to the rigors of trail life.  I remember well the pain in my legs and back when I first started.  I had to stop every few feet while going uphill, just to breathe.  Thank God, I am starting to get in shape again!

More important than physical condition, however, is the shape of your inner being.  The spiritual trail you are on is far tougher than any wilderness trail.  God wants to strengthen you for that journey.

It is going to take quality time spent in the presence of the Lord.  That is why your time in the presence of the Lord is so beneficial.  It builds you up internally.  To do this you must free yourself from distractions so that you can concentrate on Christ.

Let Him strengthen you today.  Spend time before Him just drinking in His Spirit.  Take the time necessary so that your inner man is ready for the road ahead, no matter how rough the path.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 26, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
