RSS

Death to Life

25 Apr

John 5:24-25
“I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.  I tell you the truth, a time is coming and has now come when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God and those who hear will live.”

It’s obvious that Jesus is talking about spiritual life here, because He says, “has now come”.  It was not future, but was being fulfilled in the days that Jesus walked the earth.  He was really giving the Pharisees a slap in the face because of their self-righteousness.  They were the dead people (spiritually) that Jesus was talking about.  He was basically telling them, “Wake up!  You’re dead and if you want life, you must believe and obey my words.”

It was time for them to hear and live.  Jesus loved them and desired that they would pass over from death into life.  Unfortunately, their pride kept them from accepting Christ for who He was.  Even today pride is one of the biggest hindrances to the move of God in the church.

I think a big part of our problem is not knowing the real issue.  We think that our choice is between God and the devil.  We either look at it that way or make it a choice between good and evil.  The fact is that neither of those choices are what the Lord put before us.  The real choice He gives us is life or death.  As a matter of fact, there may be a “good” thing that I do too often, and it results in bringing death to my spiritual walk.

As long as I lower the standard by “trying to be good,” I will never attain to the abundant life in Christ.  I must seek to let allow the life of Christ to shine through me.  That is what will lift me up to where I should be.

Jesus makes an important point here.  It is the basis of our hope and trust in Him.  Christ is the Life Giver.  This is the foundation for everything else.  We must go to Him if we really want to live pleasing to God.

Spend time with the Life Giver today.  Let the Holy Spirit impart to you the life that only He can give.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
