RSS

The Sacred Mountain

21 Apr

2 Peter 1:17-18
For he received honor and glory from God the Father when the voice came to him from the Majestic Glory, saying, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”  We ourselves heard this voice that came from heaven when we were with him on the sacred mountain.

Peter is remembering back to a time when he and two other apostles received a special revelation up on a mountaintop.  Jesus was transfigured before their very eyes, taking on the glory that was His from eternity past.  He became robed in the majesty that was His before the foundations of the world were established.  Peter calls that place the “sacred mountain.”

Where are your sacred mountains?  Where are those special places where God’s Word to you changed your life?  With me, I remember kneeling next to a bed at a Christian summer camp.  There was also a time where God spoke to me about entering full-time ministry.  There have been many such times that I can look back on.

The problem I have is that my memory is so short.  It is easy for me to forget these deep encounters with God.  Unless I record them, I will eventually lose the impact of my meetings with Him.  I need to take the time to record these life-changing moments in my journal.

In yesterday’s post I talked about the need to record things.  It is especially true when we have life changing encounters with God.  These are times that must be kept for our future.  To remind us of what we heard.  So that when the trials and challenges come, we will remember why we are taking this road.  It keeps us on track, spiritually speaking.

It is important that we find a way to remember these special times.  Make sure you keep a journal and record your encounters with the Lord.  Years later you will be grateful that you did.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
