RSS

Roots and Rocks

17 Apr

Luke 8:13
“Those on the rock are the ones who receive the word with joy when they hear it, but they have no root.  They believe for a while, but in the time of testing they fall away.”

Roots and rocks are not a good combination, especially if you are a plant.  One of the places that has very rocky soil is the state of Maine.  One day, as I was hiking in Maine, I came across a strange sight.  It took me a while to figure out what I was seeing.

I was hiking down a mountain on a series of switchbacks that went back and forth across the slope.  The ground, which up to that point had been a normal brown color, suddenly had a ten foot wide streak of dark chocolate dirt across the trail.

When my foot hit this new dirt, I began to slide, uncontrollably, downhill.  When I was finally able to stop myself, I began to look for the cause of this.  What I realized was that a huge tree, that had grown in the dirt on top of a rock, had literally slid down the side of the mountain in a rainstorm the night before.  Its roots had not held because they could not get very deep.

I took this as a spiritual lesson to me.  If you have no root system, you may grow up for a while.  Eventually, however, you will now be able to hang on in the storms of life.  To be secure you must be firmly grounded in Christ.

Take the time today to add depth to your root system.  Spend time in the presence of the Lord building your relationship with Him.  Let Him speak to your heart as you wait upon Him.  With the strength you gain from your times with the Lord, you need never fear the road ahead.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
