RSS

The Fear of the Lord

26 Mar

Lightning 3What does that mean?  Should I be afraid of God?  Is He watching for any slip so He can zap me?

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.
Proverbs 1:7

The fear of the Lord is misunderstood by many people.  I have talked to Christians who were so very afraid that they would mess up even a little.  They think that God is watching them so closely that if they make the smallest mistake, they will be penalized severely.

Fortunately that’s not what it means to walk in the fear of the Lord.  The best illustration I ever saw was a show about people who cut diamonds for a living.  The show chronicled the diamond from when it went on the auction block to when it’s stones ended up in the fine jewelry shop.

The winning bid was about 3 million dollars for this large diamond.  The jeweler was sure that he could more than triple the value by the way he cut it up into smaller stones.  What happened next surprised me.  I expected him to immediately begin the process of cutting the diamond.  Instead, he took the first three months to simply study the diamond.  He basically stared at the diamond for hours a day, making notes, drawings, and plans for the cuttings he would perform.  With a stone that valuable, he didn’t want to do anything that would ruin it.

That is a picture of the fear of the Lord.  I am not afraid that God is going to get upset at me and hurt me.  On the contrary, my relationship with God is so important to me that I fear anything coming to disrupt it.  It is so valuable to me that I don’t want to ruin it.  I want to walk before God in such a way that our fellowship grows daily.

Cultivate a true fear of the Lord.  Meditate upon how valuable it is to be in relationship with Him.  Then let that attitude motivate you to live a reverent life before Him.

© Nick Zaccardi 2012

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
