RSS

My Testimony – A Godly Heritage

24 Mar

2 Timothy 1:5
I have been reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.

Sometimes it’s good to look back over your life to see where God has brought you from.  I love to hear a testimony of a changed life.  I have known drug addicts, gang members and people from the “underworld” who have given their lives to Christ and were changed by His power.  I have met people who have been bound by addictions, hurt by abuse and oppressed under the weight of depression all set free by the blood of Jesus.

It is an encouragement to see the life-changing power of the Holy Spirit at work in the world.  I, for one was insulated from most of these issues.  I tend to relate more with Timothy.  My grandparents were saved soon after they came over to America from Italy.  My parents were raised in church, and followed Christ throughout their lives.  When I came along, I had no choice – church was where our family went, whenever the doors were open.

Then, one day, at a children’s camp (Camp Woodhaven in West Boylston, MA) I personally received the salvation offered by Jesus Christ.  I have tried to follow His leading ever since.

Sometimes I used to feel that I missed out on something, when I would hear the testimonies of how God saved people from an evil life.  But when I grew older I realized the blessing of being born into a Christian home.  God kept me from some of the things that could have destroyed me.  I have a testimony of the Lord’s power to keep and protect a life from the darkness of the world.

So, whether you came to Christ from a life of great sin, or you were raised in church, be grateful to the Lord for His presence in your life.  The fact is, we all need a Savior.  No one is too far away from His love.  Equally, no one is good enough to deserve His love.  We all need the power of the cross to set us free.  Praise God for His grace that He freely gives to all who seek Him.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
