RSS

Comparing

10 Mar

Galatians 6:4-5
Each one should test his own actions.  Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load.

It is the great destroyer of life.

“Why can’t you be like…”

“Why can’t I be like…”

It will rob you of your joy.  It will make your life miserable.

I love to hike, but when I first started, it was a very frustrating experience.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the hiking part.  But I would be zooming along as fast as my little Italian legs could carry me.  Then these other hikers who were all legs (and seemed to be only strolling along) passed me like I was standing still.

The envy that I felt robbed me of the pleasure I should have been experiencing.  It was only when I learned to enjoy MY hike that the pleasure returned.

It is the same in our daily lives.  We are all different.  Don’t compare what someone else is doing to what you are doing.  You can always find somebody doing better than you, just as you can always find someone doing worse.  Comparing only serves to make you frustrated.

Take some time today to thank God for who you are.  Thank Him for your gifts, callings, strengths and weaknesses.  They all combine to make you a unique and precious gift in the Body of Christ.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
