RSS

The Right Path

01 Mar

Proverbs 2:20
Thus you will walk in the ways of good men and keep to the paths of the righteous.
(NIV)

Righteousness is a word we don’t like to use too often.  It’s real religious sounding.  All it really means is to be right from God’s perspective.  Unfortunately, the religious definition is not always in line with the Scripture.

Having grown up in church, I sometimes got the impression that I was righteous as long as I followed a set of rules.  If I was “being good” then I was righteous.

At this point I have come to the conclusion that righteousness is all about trusting God enough to live my life on His terms instead of mine.  It is a path I have to walk.  The reality is that when we walk, every step is a choice.  Even a slight change in our stride can send us off into a totally different direction.

Each day I have a choice.  I can walk the way of the world, or trust the Lord that He will bring about His plan in my life.  By watching the lives of godly men and women in the pages of the Bible, or in the history of the church, I can see where this path is leading me.

Make the best choice today.  Follow the advise of wisdom. “Walk in the ways of good men and keep to the paths of the righteous.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
