RSS

The Light – Part 1

27 Feb

Psalm 18:28
       You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.
(NIV)

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.”

Sometimes children’s songs are the most profound.  Notice how the song says I’m gonna let it shine, not I’m gonna make it shine.  Simply put, I can’t be a light apart from Christ.  He is the light of the world.

David said that it is the Lord that kept his lamp burning.  It was God who turned his darkness into light.  I am only a light as I reflect the light of Christ.  As soon as I think it is my goodness lighting up the world around me, I plunge back into darkness.

I need to see myself as the moon.  A great source of light and beauty at night. Yet none of it comes from its own glory.  The moon only reflects the glory of the sun.  In the same way we reflect Christ to the world.

When we take our eyes off of the Lord and begin to think we are so great, it is like a lunar eclipse.  Our flesh starts to cast a shadow over the light.  Depend upon God for your light today.  Then you can be the lamp God intended you to be.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Daily Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
